Pickens selected as District 3 coach of the year

Staff writer

KPREP, an independent program that maintains statistics, scores, rankings, and game highlights, has named its eight-man division I all district teams for the 2013 football season.

Peabody-Burns High School football coach David Pickens was chosen District 3 coach of the year.

Senior Xavier Jabary took the honors as defensive most valuable player.

Jabary also was named to the all-district team on the offensive line and the defensive line. Fred Winsor, senior, was honored as a running back and line backer, Braxton Kyle, junior, was honored as a defensive back, and junior Kevin Baatrup, was honored as return specialist.

Baatrup and Kyle also were named to honorable mention positions as end/receiver/defensive back and quarterback respectively. Kyle Seeney, junior, was named honorable mention offensive line.

The KPREP staff selects the nominees and voting is done by district coaches.